Sat. Dec 9th, 2023

Loading

7 Tips to Make Your Telegram Account Secure

Two-factor authentication

As you may be familiar with, in order to log in to your Telegram account, you must first provide your phone number, after which you will receive a confirmation code, and finally, you will be able to access your account. As a result, if someone gains access to this code in any manner, your account will be compromised. Two-step verification can help protect your account; you must now know your password in addition to the confirmation code. We recommend enabling two-step verification. Here are the steps:

  • Sign in to your Telegram account after opening the app.
  • In the top-right corner, tap the “menu” button.
  • Navigate to the “Settings” section and then to “Privacy and Security.”
  • Select the “Two-Step Verification” option.
  • Make a strong password and input it again for confirmation.
  • Make a password hint for yourself (it will show in public).
  • Enter your email address in the field and press the “green check” button.
  • Open the email in your inbox and hit the “confirmation link.”

Congratulations! Your account now has a strong password. Don’t write down your password; simply remember it.

Ignore fake messages

You may have seen messages like this delivered from Telegram to users:

Your account has been temporarily disabled. To authenticate your identification, please click the link below.

Note that Telegram never asks you to authenticate your identity; it’s phishing, and if you look closely at that URL, you’ll discover that it’s not the Telegram website at all, just very similar to it! If you receive such messages, completely ignore them and never click on the link.

Add a fingerprint or passcode to your Telegram account

Open the app, press on the main menu symbol in the upper left corner of the screen, then navigate to Settings[gear icon], head to Privacy and Security, scroll to the Passcode Lock, switch on the Passcode lock, and add a passcode to prevent people from spying on your Telegram chats.

You can also enable or disable the unlock with the fingerprint option. Set a time limit for the Auto-lock option while you’re here as well.

Check active sessions

Active session is a great feature that allows you to see who else has access to your account besides you! It’s amazing, isn’t it? To access the “Active Sessions” section, follow these steps:

  • Navigate to the “Settings” section and then to “Privacy and Security.”
  • Select the “Active Sessions” option.
  • You can now see all of the devices that have access to your account.
  • If you detect an unfamiliar device with a questionable IP address, click to remove it.
  • You can now reset your password and check the status of active sessions a few days later.
Warning! If you select “Terminate all other sessions,” you will be logged out of your account and must re-enter your credentials. So, it is preferable to remove them one at a time.

Enable secret chat

Many users are unaware that Telegram implements end-to-end encryption in a unique method as compared to other apps such as WhatsApp.

Telegram encrypts mainly user-to-server connections, whereas WhatsApp and Signal encrypt user-to-user connections. This implies Telegram can see the contents of messages sent through the app because the messages are stored on Telegram’s servers for cloud sync.

To have encrypted user-to-user conversations, you must enable secret chats, which are temporary because they are not saved on Telegram’s servers.

To use this function, go to a contact’s profile, hit the three-button drop-down menu in the top right corner, and then choose Start secret chat.

When secret chat is enabled, you will see a padlock icon. To set the self-destruct timer, use the three-button drop-down menu in the top right corner.

One disadvantage of using Telegram for group chats is that they are not encrypted; also, the secret chat feature is not available for group chats.

Hide Telegram notifications from the status bar

You should do this on all of your messaging apps.

In any case, no one should be able to see your Telegram message notifications on your lock screen.

On Android, navigate to Settings > Notifications and Status Bar > Manage Notifications > Lock Screen Notifications > pick “Do Not Display” or “Display Title Only.”

If you’re using an iPhone, launch Telegram > tap the three-dot menu icon to access Settings > tap the three-dot menu icon again to return to the previous screen. Scroll down to Notifications > touch on “Background Notifications,” then click “show.”

Privacy settings on Telegram

Configure your profile privacy appropriately to avoid sharing unwanted details with all 500 million+ Telegram users. To do so, navigate to Telegram’s Privacy settings and change the default values – all options and data are accessible to everyone by default. The following are recommended:

  • Phone Number — Who can see my phone number — Nobody.
  • Phone Number — Who can find me using my phone number — My Contacts
  • Last Seen & Online – Nobody.
  • Profile picture — Who can see my profile picture — My Contacts
  • Calls — Who can call me? — My Contacts — (or Nobody, if you prefer).
  • Peer-to-peer calls — My contacts (or Nobody, if you prefer not to disclose your IP address with chat partners).
  • Forwarded Messages — Who can include a link to my account while forwarding my messages? — My Contacts
  • Groups & Channels — Who can add me — My Contacts

Bonus Tip:

To sign in to Telegram, use a different phone number — or even a virtual phone number — rather than your actual mobile number. However, if you use a one-time number, someone else may obtain access to your account. To conceal your IP address, use a VPN (which Telegram can provide, for example, at the request of law enforcement officials).

Revoke Authorized Websites on Your Telegram

Currently one of the most disturbing issue is authorized websites which can send message to your friends on behalf of you. Therefore, you have to revoke all mistakenly authorized third party including websites.

You can revoke the authorization by tapping the appropriate button under the login summary.

To terminate accidentally authorized websites follow the following steps.

  1. Go to Telegram Setting and Open Privacy and Security

2. Under Privacy and Security click on Logged In With Telegram

3. After you have clicked on Logged In With Telegram, alit of authorized websites will be visible. Then terminated the access for any third party which was authorized accidentally without your interest.

Conclusion

Remember that even the most protected messenger is defenseless if someone acquires physical or remote access to your device. Keeping this in mind, it is recommended that you always encrypt all of your devices with a password or a PIN code and that you regularly update all apps and operating systems installed on them.

Follow us on:

YOUTUBE  FACEBOOK   TELEGRAM    GOOGLE NEWS  TWITTER  INSTAGRAM   PINTEREST 

Subscribe and Follow us via Email

If you have any comment regarding this article contact us at contact@ethiopianstoday.com

 

By Chala Dandessa

I am Lecturer, Researcher and Freelancer. I am the founder and Editor at ETHIOPIANS TODAY website. If you have any comment use caalaadd2@gmail.com as email contact. Additionally you can contact us through the contact page of www.ethiopianstoday.com.

Leave a Reply